Summer Bridge Program at Eastern: July 3-August 11, 2017

Click here for Last minute things for Summer Bridge 2017!

Summer Bridge  is a six-week residential summer living and learning atmosphere for students transitioning from high school to college. Admission is available to any incoming first-year student who has never before attended college. However, the program is especially designed to promote Eastern Kentucky University vision as the School of Opportunity & its philosophy of college access. Academic, social, and financial programming provide enrichment to college freshmen who have not yet reached ACT or SAT subject score benchmarks in English, math, or reading and/or students who have high school GPAs that do not qualify for full Fall-semester admission to the University. The program is managed by the EKU Office of Academic Readiness, under the Office of Academic Affairs: http://academicaffairs.eku.edu/

Application deadline for 2017 Summer Bridge:  May 15, 2017

Online Application

To be eligible to participate in the Summer Bridge program, you must:

  • Be a first-time freshman;
  • Apply and be accepted to the Summer Bridge program; and
  • Fill out both the 2016-17 and 2017-18 FAFSA.
  • Summer Bridge brochure
Summer Bridge Required Admission: 

Students with the following criteria must attend and successfully complete the Summer Bridge program in order to be admitted in the Fall semester:

  • ACT English: 13 or lower or SAT Evidence Based Reading/Writing: 420
  • ACT Math: 15 or lower or SAT Math: 450
  • ACT Reading: 13 or lower or SAT Evidence Based Reading/Writing: 460
  • High School Cumulative GPA (unweighted): 2.0+

Students may choose to retest to meet or exceed these standards. Students may submit acceptable scores from one of the following exams:  ACT/SAT, KYOTE, COMPASS*, Residual ACT, or the EKU Placement Exam offered through the Office of Academic Testing: 859-622-1281 or www.testing.eku.edu).

*COMPASS scores accepted if taken between January 1 & December 31, 2016.  Scores are only good for one year.

For additional information, please contact one of the Summer Bridge team:

Heather Davis, Coordinator, Assistant Director, EKU Academic Readiness

Carli Hornbeck, Graduate Assistant, EKU Academic Readiness & Tutoring

Arikka Standafer, Student Office Assistant & Bridge Program Peer Mentor

Call: 859-622-8860 

Email: Bridge@eku.edu.

Find us on Facebook (Eastern Bridge) or Twitter (@EKUBridge)!

 
Summer Bridge works closely with a number of campus and community partners, including:
Academic Advising http://advising.eku.edu/
Admissions http://admissions.eku.edu/
Adult Education http://adulteducation.eku.edu/
Berea College Partners for Education Community Partnership https://www.berea.edu/pfe/
Center for Student Accessibility http://accessibility.eku.edu/
Counseling Center http://counseling.eku.edu/
Division of Student Success http://studentsuccess.eku.edu/
English Composition & College Reading Strategies http://english.eku.edu/
Financial Aid http://finaid.eku.edu/
First-Year Courses http://firstyearcourses.eku.edu/
First-Year Experience http://firstyear.eku.edu/
Freshman Academy http://freshmanacademy.eku.edu/
Housing http://housing.eku.edu/
Mathematics http://math.eku.edu/
NOVA Student Support Services http://nova.eku.edu/
Student Life http://studentlife.eku.edu/
Student Success Center http://successcenter.eku.edu/
Testing http://testing.eku.edu/
Tutoring http://tutoring.eku.edu/
Open